Ceuta

Zaun Nacht


A slice of Europe in Africa

Ceuta is, along with Melilla, a Spanish exclave on the northern coast of Morocco. Geographically the town is situated in Africa, but it belongs to Spain and is therefore a legal part of the EU. Here, at the Strait of Gibraltar, only a few kilometers separate Africa from Europe. Since the 1990s irregular immigrants coming from African countries have tried in Ceuta to put their feet on European soil.

Sweet prison

Ceuta, with about 75.000 inhabitants, is one of the last bastions of Spanish hegemony in Morocco, and as such is heavily guarded. Also, from a European strategic point of view, Ceuta needs special protection. In 2005 the EU set up a fence and fit it with barbed wire and surveillance cameras to guard the border against irregular immigrants. The fence was supposed to mark clearly that it wasn’t that easy to enter “Fortress Europe”. At the same time, on the political level, the way into Europe from the outside became more difficult. Spain tightened its immigration law with exceptional arrangements for Ceuta and Melilla. According to existing legal regulations, a person applying for asylum could move freely within Spain- from this point, this was no longer an option in Ceuta or Melilla. Immigrants have to stay inside the exclaves during the whole process of the examination of their asylum proposal. And that can take a while. So Ceuta is not a temporary transit, but place of a lengthy involuntarily stays – a sweet prison, as many immigrants call it.

migration – the long journey

The journey into Ceuta in some cases takes months and years, and is often life-threatening. Some people can manage to cross the fence, as like Sekou did. Others pay a lot of money to traffickers to bring them hidden under a car’s dashboard across the border into Ceuta. Still others try to swim around the boundaries at sea or come across in a zodiac like Blade Cyrille. But even after all these troubles the trip doesn’t end in Ceuta… the waiting starts here.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Ceuta

Zaun Nacht

 

Ein Stück Europa in Afrika

Ceuta ist neben Melilla eine spanische Exklave an der nordmarokkanischen Küste. Die Kleinstadt liegt geographisch in Afrika, gehört aber zu Spanien und ist damit Teil der Europäischen Union. Seit den 1990er Jahren versuchen dort Migranten irregulär auf europäischen Boden zu gelangen.

Das süße Gefängnis

Ceuta, ein Städtchen mit rund 75.000 Einwohnern, ist eine der letzten Bastionen spanischer Vorherrschaft auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent und wird von Spanien behütet wie ein Augapfel. Im Jahre 2005 wurden die Grenzzäune um Ceuta erhöht und mit Stacheldraht und Überwachungskameras ausgestattet. Der Zaun sollte der wachsenden Zahl irregulärer Einwanderer ein Ende und damit ein klares Zeichen setzen: die ‚Festung Europa‘ ist nicht einzunehmen. Auch auf politischer Ebene wurden Maßnahmen ergriffen, um den Weg auf europäischen Boden zu erschweren. Spanien verschärfte sein Immigrationsgesetz, laut dem sich alle im Asylverfahren befindlichen Personen eigentlich frei im Land bewegen dürfen,  und verabschiedete für die Exklaven Ceuta und Melilla eine Ausnahmeregelung. Dieser zufolge dürfen Migranten die Exklaven auch während der Prüfung ihres Asylantrags nicht verlassen. Und das kann dauern. Damit ist Ceuta keine temporäre Transitstation, sondern Ort eines unfreiwilligen, oft jahrelangen Aufenthaltes – ein ‚süßes Gefängnis‘, wie viele Migranten sagen.

Migration – der lange Weg

Die Wege, die viele Menschen beschreiten, um nach Ceuta zu kommen, sind weit und oftmals lebensgefährlich. Einige schaffen es, den Zaun zu überqueren, so wie Sekou. Andere zahlen viel Geld an Schlepperbanden, die sie versteckt im Auto unter dem Armaturenbrett über die Grenze schmuggeln, wie bei Babu. Wieder andere versuchen um die Abgrenzungen herumzuschwimmen, oder im Schlauchboot überzusetzen, wie Blade Cyrille. Doch am Ende dieser Mühen steht nicht das Ende der Reise – sondern das Warten.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: