C.E.T.I.

Ceti Blick hoch zu Wohnraum weit

In the reception camp – a short time home

Immigrants in Ceuta are held in the Centro de Estancia Temporal de Inmigrantes (C.E.T.I.), the temporary holding centre for immigrants. The reception camp was set up in 2000 by the Spanish government as a response to the rising number of tents in the forest of Ceuta built by irregular immigrants in the 1990s. The C.E.T.I. was meant to provide basic needs for arriving immigrants until their situation is clarified. They receive three meals, medical treatment and psychological support as well as Spanish lessons. They can stay in shared rooms containing beds for 10 people. The C.E.T.I. is an open access space – nobody is obliged to stay there: for example, a group of Indian immigrants preferred to stay in a tent camp in the forest. Despite this exception most immigrants stay in the C.E.T.I. because for them it’s nearly impossible to find work in Ceuta and to manage everyday life.

Life under observation

Even if the C.E.T.I provides all basic needs, immigrants have to endure the everyday pressure of living under the observation of omnipresent police forces in the C.E.T.I. The very impersonal mode of psychological support in the camp is often inadequate in easing the trauma many immigrants have suffered during their trips through the desert. In the squeeze of living in shared rooms, conflicts between immigrants are a part of the daily life of the camp.

The secret camp

When irregular immigrants are picked up in their boats in the sea, they are most often brought to Ceuta instead of reception camps on the Spanish mainland. In the enclave on the coast of Morocco the way to Europe is blocked, and the immigrants can hardly hide in a little town like Ceuta and eke out a living on their own. Human rights organizations like the Spanish NGO CEAR criticize the Spanish government for misusing Ceuta, and especially the C.E.T.I., as a permanent detention centre. The C.E.T.I. was designed to accommodate around 500 people for a temporary stay. But reality in the camp looks different: rooms are crowded, some immigrants don’t stay days or weeks, but rather months and years. Even if applications for asylum are denied, people have to wait for years in the C.E.T.I too see what is going to happen to them. Under these circumstances it isn’t easy to keep despair at bay.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

C.E.T.I.

Ceti Blick hoch zu Wohnraum weit

 

Im Auffanglager für Migranten – ein Heim auf Zeit

Migranten in Ceuta werden im Centro de Estancia Temporal de Inmigrantes (C.E.T.I.) untergebracht. Das staatliche Auffanglager wurde im Jahr 2000 eingerichtet, nachdem im Laufe der 1990er Jahre immer mehr junge Menschen in den Wäldern Ceutas ihr Lager aufschlugen. Das C.E.T.I. soll die Migranten mit dem Nötigsten versorgen, bis ihr Status administrativ geklärt ist. Sie erhalten drei Mahlzeiten, medizinische und psychologische Betreuung, und Spanischunterricht. Für die Nacht stehen Mehrbettzimmer zur Verfügung, in denen bis zu 10 Leuten untergebracht sind. Das C.E.T.I. ist ein offenes Angebot, d.h. es ist nicht verpflichtend, dort zu leben. Einige Migranten, wie eine Gruppe Inder, haben es vorgezogen, in einem Lager im Wald zu leben. Da es aber in Ceuta kaum Arbeit  und Möglichkeiten gibt, sich selbst durchzuschlagen, bleiben die meisten Migranten im C.E.T.I..

Leben unter Beobachtung

Auch wenn im C.E.T.I. die grundlegenden Bedürfnisse abgedeckt sind, fühlen sich die Migranten durch die ständige polizeiliche Bewachung unter ständiger Beobachtung. Die oft unpersönliche psychologische und medizinische Betreuung kann viele in der Bewältigung der traumatischen Erlebnisse der Reise nicht halfen. Bei der Enge im Zusammenleben sind Konflikte zwischen den Migranten vorprogrammiert, besonders im Sommer, wenn bei ruhiger See fast täglich neue Migranten in Ceuta ankommen.

Das geheime Lager

Werden auf offener See Migranten aufgegriffen, wird oft versucht, sie zuerst in Ceuta anstatt in Einrichtungen auf dem Festland zu bringen. In der kleinen Exklave Ceuta ist der Weg auf den Kontinent versperrt und die Migranten können nicht untertauchen und sich auf eigene Faust durchschlagen. Menschenrechtsorganisationen wie die spanische NGO CEAR kritisieren, dass der spanische Staat Ceuta und insbesondere das für temporären Aufenthalt konzipierte C.E.T.I. so als dauerhafte Internierungslager ausnutze.  Das C.E.T.I. ist dafür ausgelegt, rund 500 Menschen für einen temporären Zeitraum zu beherbergen. Doch die Realität sieht anders aus: die Zimmer sind überfüllt. Viele Menschen bleiben nicht nur Tage oder Wochen, sondern Jahre und Monate im C.E.T.I.. Auch wenn Asylanträge abgelehnt wurden, warten im C.E.T.I. die Menschen oft jahrelang, was mit ihnen geschehen wird. Unter diesen Bedingungen fällt es vielen nicht leicht, den Mut zu bewahren und nicht zu verzweifeln.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: